Partners/ Beneficiaries

The Ecosystem Development for Small Enterprise (EDSE) Programme’s implementing partners

The Department of Small Business Development

The Department of Small Business Development (BSDB) is the lead partner agency within the South African government for the implementation of the EDSE Programme. The mandate of the Department, which was established in 2014, is to lead and coordinate an integrated approach to the promotion and development of entrepreneurship, small businesses and co-operatives, and to ensure an enabling legislative and policy environment to support their growth and sustainability.

Biographies of the Minister of Small Business Development, Ms Khumbudzo Ntshavheni, and the Deputy Minister, Ms Rosemary Capa, can be accessed here.

The EDSE Programme’s technical assistance team is based in the Department of Small Business Development while project teams are based in each of the other beneficiary agencies, listed below.

Rural Development South Africa
The Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development

The mission of the Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development (DALRRD), established in June 2019 by the merger of the Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries and the Department of Rural Development and Land Reform, is to initiate, facilitate, coordinate, catalyse and implement an integrated rural development programme.

Biographies of the Minister of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development, Ms Thokozile Didiza, and the Deputy Ministers, Mr Mcebisi Skwatsha and Mr Sdumo Dlamini, can be accessed here.

Seda South Africa
The Small Enterprise Development Agency

seda was established in December 2004 as an agency of the Department of Small Business Development. It is mandated to implement the government’s small business strategy; design and implement a standard and common national delivery network for small enterprise development; and integrate government-funded small enterprise support agencies across all tiers of government.

The Small Enterprise Finance Agency

sefa was founded in April 2012 as a subsidiary of the Industrial Development Corporation Limited following a merger of three agencies: Khula, the South African Micro-Finance Apex Fund and the IDC’s small business funding programme. Its  mandate is to foster the establishment, development and growth of SMMEs and co-operatives, by providing access to finance in an efficient and sustainable manner.  The Department of Small Business Development is sefa’s executive authority.

European Union

Besides The EDSE Programme, the Delegation of the European Union supports a number of related projects in South Africa. They include:

  • The Capacity Building Programme for Employment Promotion (CBPEP) strengthens the organisational capacity of relevant South African Departments and individual capacity within, to implement employment-related policy measures
  • The Education for Employability (E4E) programme improves the quality of basic education, vocational training and job placement services from early childhood, through teen-years until the acquisition of skills needed for the world of work
  • The EU – SA Dialogue Facility supports policy dialogue between the European Union and its Member States and South Africa, on matters of common interest
  • The Support Programme to the National System of Innovation assists the Government of South Africa to improve the functioning of a coherent and coordinated National System of Innovation that will enable SA’s development, competitiveness and transformation.
  • The Programme to Support the Transformation of the Wines and Spirits Sector in South Africa also includes the marketing and distribution of wines in priority markets outside the EU.